Australia's Top Cruise Site

Passengers Booked

3 1 0 0 0 0 +

Trusted cruise ship reviews

14 Passenger reviews of Holland America Line

Top rated Holland America Line ships

Most reviewed Holland America Line ships

Top reviewers

  • Peter
    324 helpful votes
    324 votes
  • SUSAN H
    311 helpful votes
    311 votes
  • Ralph S
    291 helpful votes
    291 votes
  • Geoffrey
    281 helpful votes
    281 votes
  • Shane
    224 helpful votes
    224 votes

14 reviews sorted by:

Contributor image placeholder

Stephen B

Contributor

Noordam

View deals
  • Overall

    5
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    3
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4

"Cruising 101"

Jan 2017

I love cruising and recommend it to all my friends. My cruise on Noordam was my second with Holland America Line and I must admit this cruise was not quite as good as my first. It was still fantastic but I suspect that there were not as many crew this time. The food was of a high standard and well presented. No problem with dinner seating, turn up be seated, no wait. The ship offers many dining options. We had dinner in the Pinnacle Grill on our last night and the Alaskan Crab Claws were the best seafood meal I have ever had. The entertainment was a little disappointing as the guest entertainers were the same as on my cruise 2 years ago. The bars and happy hours are very relaxing. The ship is well presented with interesting paintings and model throughout. The stewards who looked after our stateroom were fantastic. We had a number of special requests during the cruise and nothing was a problem. The room was always clean and tidy. The two guys were extemely friendly and polite. I like the movable roof over the main pool. they close it or part close it when the weather is less than perfect so you can still relax in comfort even during a tropical squall. Something I found strange was spening the last night on board in Sydney (my home) and disembarking the next morning. Also having to go through imigration the day the ship docked, then get back on board for the night and then go through Customs the next day was novel to say the least. Not HALs fault. I wanted to stay on board for the next cruise.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Noordam
  • Destination: South Pacific
  • Sailed: November 2016
Contributor image placeholder

Margaret L

Contributor

  • 88 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 3 Cruises

Maasdam

View deals
  • Overall

    4
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    5
  • Cabin

    5
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    3

"Tipping is a killer"

Jan 2017

We asked at front desk for adjustment of tipping as we tipped our cabin person individually. We filled in a form, were given an amended statement and final account deleting gratuities and assurances that we would not be billed. Now three weeks later and after two emails the amount of USA $600 plus is appearing on my statement. . If this is solved I would then totally recommend Holland America cruises as one of the best. The food is great. The staff very polite, pleasant and friendly. The Maasdam is a beautiful ship. Surroundings very impressive and could not be faulted..having a choice of two pools on a smaller ship was good and the plenty of deck chairs made for a very relaxing holiday. Though we didn't use any of the port tours arranged by the ship what we heard from fellow travellers were all positive. The serving of the food can be a little daunting as queues formed at each bay. Hand sanitising is left to the individual, other cruises we have been on have made this mandatory and this is reassuring. The tipping issue really has slightly negated our experience. We are not dining room users and found the buffets more than satisfactory.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Maasdam
  • Destination: New Zealand
  • Sailed: December 2016
Contributor image placeholder

Tracey D

Contributor

  • 21 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 0 Cruises

Volendam

View deals
  • Overall

    1
  • Food

    4
  • Entertainment

    2
  • Cabin

    1
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    3
  • Value

    3

"Cabin noise"

Jul 2016

The staff on the ship were exceptional. The food was good and the choices were adequate. The entertainment was a bit average. The main problem was the cabin noise. We had a balcony cabin on deck 7 and directly overhead was the Lido buffet dining room which also has outside dining areas. There was constant noise of furniture being moved around and across the deck, people walking around, trolleys being rolled across - it was extremely noisy and went on from 5am till around midnight every day. We were travelling in a group of 34 and all of the group on this deck suffered the same noise problem. After reporting it to customer service they stated that they would remind the crew to be quiet but it wasn't always the crew making the noise. It was impossible to relax in the cabin during the day and interrupted our sleep overnight. After a number of complaints from many people the cruise line line gave us a $200 credit on our bill. This was appreciated but didn't make up for the discomfort caused during the entire trip. If travelling on this ship I would highly recommend deck 6 as the passengers in our group on this deck all had quiet cabins. A disappointing problem on an otherwise great cruise.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Volendam
  • Destination: Alaska
  • Sailed: July 2016
Contributor image placeholder

Ross C

Contributor

  • 7 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 1 Cruises

Zaandam

View deals
  • Overall

    5
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    5
  • Cabin

    5
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    5
  • Value

    5

"Alaska the one place everyone should visit"

Feb 2016

We cruised 2 times with Holland America in a few weeks both trips were amazing. We went up to Alaska then returned also by ship it was a cheaper option to flying and you got to visit all the great places again. That was so good as it is so hard to choose between all the excurtions available so that way you got to do so many more of them. The ships are great so many areas to check out. The staff were wonderful and couldn't do enough for you, they work very hard to keep the ships running smoothly. There were lots of fun activities to do while sailing, bingo, music trivia, game of fun, dancing competitions all sorts. The shows were so professional beautiful costumes and singing. The crew nights were also fabulous they were all so busy don't know when they had time to practise for it. The information talks on all the places we were going to visit were very informative. The daily news letters kept you up with everything that was happening daily on the ship it was difficult to decide which things to do most days. The variety of food was great. Give yourselves a treat and go for a cruise you will not regret it.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Zaandam
  • Destination: Alaska
  • Sailed: August 2012
Contributor image placeholder

Mark M

Contributor

  • 2 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 1 Cruises

Oosterdam

View deals
  • Overall

    4
  • Food

    4
  • Entertainment

    3
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    4
  • Price

    5
  • Value

    5

"Cruise away your worries"

Nov 2015

Looking for a holiday where you can totally relax and forget about the hassles of life? Look no further, book a cruise! Cruising is an incredibly relaxing holiday and extremely good value. Besides your alcohol and land tours etc everything is included. Imagine room service for the length of your journey - well with cruising you can have this as part of the deal. My cruise was a Hollland American ship from Sydney to the South Pacific. The departure through the heads of Sydney Harbour is magical and from that moment it's total relaxation. A cruise is a mixture of sea and land days. The sea days are wonderfully organised by the crew and you can do as much or as little as you want. The days on land allow some great touring and once again the flexibility of doing your own thing or being organised as part of a bigger tour. The food is a highlight - lots of restaurants to choose from and bars as well . The happy hours are a great way to save money as well. The entertainment is first class with a nightly shows which entertains everyone. All in all a hassle free holiday from the moment you board to the time you embark. Forget the hassles of airports - departing and arriving is a dream! Enjoy!

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Oosterdam
  • Destination: South Pacific
  • Sailed: January 2015
{"E_COMMERCE":[],"PROMO":[],"IS_TEST_ENV":false,"PAGE_READY":{"hitNationality":"us","siteCurrency":"AUD","siteEnv":"Production","siteLang":"en","sitePageType":"holland-america\/reviews","siteProduct":"cruise","siteReferrer":"http:\/\/cruisesalefinder.com.au","siteRelease":"NS","siteType":"responsive","userLoggedIn":0}}