Australia's Top Cruise Site

Top rated Holland America Line ships

Most reviewed Holland America Line ships

Top reviewers

14 reviews sorted by:

Contributor image placeholder

Geoffrey

Contributor

  • 398 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 2 Cruises

Noordam

View deals
  • Overall

    4
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    5
  • Crew

    4
  • Price

    3
  • Value

    3
Nov 2015

"14day Noordam"

We took the 14 day re positioning cruise from Honolulu to Sydney on the Noordam. This was only our second time on a cruise ship and the thought of such a long time on the water was a bit daunting. This concern soon disappeared. As with our first cruise, we chose a balcony cabin which we really made use of. Leaving Honolulu, the first 5 days straight were at sea, and many hours were spent on the balcony just watching the ocean pass by. The weather was near perfect and often we had glass out seas. The Noordam exceeded our expectations in almost every way:, food, service, facilities, activities etc. The common areas on Decks 2 and 3 were great for a quiet read, coffee or a drink at one of the bars. The 5 o'clock happy hours with two-for-one drinks were also a good time to get together with the new cruise buddies. Our only disappointment was the band playing live music, which did not live up to their billing of "BB King All Stars". However, for the age group of most passengers on the ship, I'm pretty sure there was plenty of good entertainment throughout the cruise. Especially good was the comedian and ventriloquist, who would have had many people coming back for multiple shows.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Noordam
  • Destination: South Pacific
  • Sailed: October 2015
Contributor image placeholder

Margaret L

Contributor

  • 174 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 4 Cruises

Maasdam

View deals
  • Overall

    4
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    5
  • Cabin

    5
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    3
Jan 2017

"Tipping is a killer"

We asked at front desk for adjustment of tipping as we tipped our cabin person individually. We filled in a form, were given an amended statement and final account deleting gratuities and assurances that we would not be billed. Now three weeks later and after two emails the amount of USA $600 plus is appearing on my statement. . If this is solved I would then totally recommend Holland America cruises as one of the best. The food is great. The staff very polite, pleasant and friendly. The Maasdam is a beautiful ship. Surroundings very impressive and could not be faulted..having a choice of two pools on a smaller ship was good and the plenty of deck chairs made for a very relaxing holiday. Though we didn't use any of the port tours arranged by the ship what we heard from fellow travellers were all positive. The serving of the food can be a little daunting as queues formed at each bay. Hand sanitising is left to the individual, other cruises we have been on have made this mandatory and this is reassuring. The tipping issue really has slightly negated our experience. We are not dining room users and found the buffets more than satisfactory.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Maasdam
  • Destination: New Zealand
  • Sailed: December 2016
Contributor image placeholder

Stephen B

Contributor

Noordam

View deals
  • Overall

    5
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    3
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4
Jan 2017

"Cruising 101"

I love cruising and recommend it to all my friends. My cruise on Noordam was my second with Holland America Line and I must admit this cruise was not quite as good as my first. It was still fantastic but I suspect that there were not as many crew this time. The food was of a high standard and well presented. No problem with dinner seating, turn up be seated, no wait. The ship offers many dining options. We had dinner in the Pinnacle Grill on our last night and the Alaskan Crab Claws were the best seafood meal I have ever had. The entertainment was a little disappointing as the guest entertainers were the same as on my cruise 2 years ago. The bars and happy hours are very relaxing. The ship is well presented with interesting paintings and model throughout. The stewards who looked after our stateroom were fantastic. We had a number of special requests during the cruise and nothing was a problem. The room was always clean and tidy. The two guys were extemely friendly and polite. I like the movable roof over the main pool. they close it or part close it when the weather is less than perfect so you can still relax in comfort even during a tropical squall. Something I found strange was spening the last night on board in Sydney (my home) and disembarking the next morning. Also having to go through imigration the day the ship docked, then get back on board for the night and then go through Customs the next day was novel to say the least. Not HALs fault. I wanted to stay on board for the next cruise.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Noordam
  • Destination: South Pacific
  • Sailed: November 2016
Contributor image placeholder

Anonymous

Contributor

  • 0 Helpful votes
  • 0 Cruise reviews
  • 0 Cruises

Maasdam

View deals
  • Overall

    5
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    5
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    5
Jun 2011

"The Caribbean/CT Tours"

We sailed out of Port Everglades on a dismal afternoon aboard the Maasdam but from then on the weather was glorious. It was like De Ja Vu aboard the Maasdam as the Holland America ships are all excellent & very alike we had done a couple of cruises before and really enjoyed the ship size. The cabins are well appointed and comfortable and kept neat by the wonderful stewards who tidy up, turn down your bed at night, leave an animal on your bed most days (at least a folded towel animal) and generally are always around when you need them. Our first port of call was Half Moon Cay an Island owned by Holland America which is just a glorious place, emerald sea, white beaches and plenty of activities, we chose to just enjoy the beach and sun before our sumptuous lunch in one of the Cabanas. Half Moon Cay set the tone of the cruise for us all the Caribbean ports were great and there were plenty of activities ashore to chose from, a program of shore and onboard activities was delivered to your cabin each day, and there was so much to chose from, from 4 wheel driving, snorkelling, sailing, you name it they had it. On board there were so many activities starting from Sudoku/Crosswords/Chess etc up in the well equipped library, to PC lessons, scrapbooking, wine tasting, cooking, bingo, pokies, Tai Chi,shows, Yoga,swimming, towel folding lessons, shopping(and sales)bridge, so many activities that if you took part in all of them you'd need a holiday to get over them. We picked out each day from the program what activities we would take part in, there were 4 of us (2 couples) travelling together and some days we only saw each other at breakfast and then again at Happy Hour. We loved the food and really enjoyed dressing for dinner and then going to either a show, a movie, dancing at the Crows Nest, the Piano Bar again so much to do we were spoilt for choice. 2 years before we booked 2 cruises one to Mexico and one to Alaska the Alaskan/Cruise Tour was just amazing and I would love to do this again, but the Mexican Cruise was hit by the Swine Flu scare so we spent most of the time off the coast of California-one excellent port was Catallina Island if you go there take the articulated truck to the Airport in the Sky-just amazing.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Maasdam
  • Destination: Caribbean
  • Sailed: March 2011
Contributor image placeholder

Cheryl P

Contributor

  • 10 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 0 Cruises

Nieuw Amsterdam

  • Overall

    4
  • Food

    3
  • Entertainment

    3
  • Cabin

    5
  • Crew

    4
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4
Jun 2015

"Adventure for the older generation"

The ship itself is tastefully decorated and kept scrupulously clean. The boarding and delivery of luggage went without fuss and our holiday began as soon as we boarded. The staff were attentive, if not always knowledgeable. This cruise line seems to market towards the older generation (>60) and the entertainment and food reflects this. We chose 2 back-to-back Mediterranean cruises, each one leaving from Venice but following different routes. We stopped nearly every day at a different port, something that we prefer (rather than days looking at nothing but ocean). The food was good quality, but repetitive to the point of becoming tiresome. We ate in the dining room a few times but found it difficult to book a table or stay seated with our group of 6. We eventually gave up and chose to eat in the Lido bistro restaurant upstairs which is where we encountered the repetition of food. It seemed like they'd cornered the world market of beef tenderloin and pork belly because each was served every other night. The crew were attentive although it's clear that alcohol servers are paid a bonus on what they can sell because they try to upsell, sometimes to the point of being pushy. Overall the cruise was fantastic, we had a great time visiting so many different places. I'd recommend Holland America to the older generation who like a bit of luxury, peace and quiet...and who like "meat and 3 veg" style food.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Nieuw Amsterdam
  • Destination: Australia
  • Sailed: May 2015
Facebook Twitter Youtube
{"E_COMMERCE":[],"PROMO":[],"IS_TEST_ENV":false,"PAGE_READY":{"hitNationality":"us","siteCurrency":"AUD","siteEnv":"Production","siteLang":"en","sitePageType":"holland-america\/reviews","siteProduct":"cruise","siteReferrer":"http:\/\/cruisesalefinder.com.au","siteRelease":"NS","siteType":"responsive","userLoggedIn":0}}