Australia's Top Cruise Site

Passengers Booked

3 1 0 0 0 0 +

Sun Princess

The Sun Princess, from the Princess Cruises fleet, set a new bar in terms of the percentage of rooms with balconies. In doing so, she allowed more passengers than ever to get out and enjoy the sun, making her well worthy of the name. Have a read here of what other cruisers have thought of this particular princess. ... Read more

54 Passengers have reviewed this ship

  • Excellent

    34
  • Very good

    14
  • Average

    4
  • Poor

    2
  • Terrible

    0

Rating summary

  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4

54 reviews sorted by:

Contributor image placeholder

Aileen D

Contributor

  • 62 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 0 Cruises

Sun Princess

View deals
  • Overall

    5
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    5
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    5
  • Value

    5

"Vanautu ,Champagne bay"

Mar 2017

Fantastic Cruise: we were in the tail end of norovirus when we got on and they staff and crew worked hard to make sure we were safe, the staff were fabulous washing tables and chairs in the dining room every night to make sure they killed the virus, I believe she is norovirus free after we got off, my hat goes off to the staff, for the efforts to kill the virus....thanks again princess had a fabulous time.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Sun Princess
  • Destination: South Pacific
  • Sailed: February 2017
Contributor image placeholder

Jean M

Contributor

  • 89 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 4 Cruises

Sun Princess

View deals
  • Overall

    5
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    3
  • Cabin

    5
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    5
  • Value

    5

"Great cruise"

Jan 2017

Sun Princess is a really good ship. Well laid out. Food in the dining room was superb. Could not fault it. Food in the Horizon court buffet was also very good. The wait staff in crooners bar were excellent. Also our stateroom staff Jaysen was great always had a smile on his face. The entertainment was pretty good especially the juggling act. Embarkation and disembarkation went pretty smoothly except my husbands case did not get delivered to our stateroom. By 4.30pm I phoned service desk to enquire where it was. After half an hour I phoned again. Still no case. I went down to the service desk and saw his case sitting next to a wall near the service desk. I went and picked it up and took it myself up to our stateroom. I was not impressed. There was no follow up by the service desk to check if we got our case. This was probably the only negative comment. We had the noravirus on board and the staff handled this really well. The captain kept us up to date on a regular basis. I think that Princess cruise ships should adopt the same policy as P & O cruise line in that passengers are served by staff members in the buffet restaurant. Unfortunately when passengers are allowed to handle food there is always a high risk of having these outbreaks.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Sun Princess
  • Destination: Australia
  • Sailed: December 2016
Contributor image placeholder

Mavis M

Contributor

  • 41 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 7 Cruises

Sun Princess

View deals
  • Overall

    5
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    3
  • Cabin

    5
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    5
  • Value

    5

"A Room with a View"

Oct 2016

I was thrilled with my balcony stateroom, first time I have had a balcony since becoming a single passenger, the price was amazing so I was able to justify paying it' As usual on Princess attendants were very attentive and couldn't do enough for you they made you feel like you were very special.I travelled to Hawaii in 2015 on the Sun Princess and I was amazed at the changes in one year Super Duper Beds, Extra Fast Internet, Easy Availability of Movies on TV, Pizzaria gone and Curtis Stone restaurant in it's place , very upmarket, New Sports Bar Legends taking place of Disco which was always joke on ship in past because it was always empty, Legends had times when it was jampacked because they were streaming the Grand Finals of all Codes so there were some very happy people getting there sports fix, the Sushi bar was now a Seafood bar so their menu was more varied and last but not least was HAPPY HOUR in Windjammer never been on ship with happy hour before. The only negative thing i found was Entertainment was not up to usual standard in some cases showing same show in Theatre and VIsta Lounge at same time by streaming show into Vista and also the varieties not as good as in past

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Sun Princess
  • Destination: South Pacific
  • Sailed: September 2016
Contributor image placeholder

Shirley K

Contributor

  • 40 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 2 Cruises

Sun Princess

View deals
  • Overall

    5
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    5
  • Cabin

    5
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    5
  • Value

    5

"Sydney to Port Douglas "

Sep 2016

Absolutely Fabulous Crew were very Polite and Attentive always smiling and happy to oblige nothing was a problem to them. The food was out of this world and went far beyond my expectations The Specialty Restaurants were amazing and the Waiters and even the Head Chef paid special attention to us as I was celebrating a Very Special Birthday they even presented me with a Birthday Cake. The waiters in the Main Dining Room were Great and lot's of Fun n happy to go the extra mile The cabin Staff were also great also very obliging. This may have been our First Cruise but certainly not our last as have booked another one already with the same company as we've heard very good reports from lots of Cruisers

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Sun Princess
  • Destination: Australia
  • Sailed: September 2016
Contributor image placeholder

Ian

Contributor

  • 124 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 1 Cruises

Sun Princess

View deals
  • Overall

    2
  • Food

    4
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    5
  • Crew

    4
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4

"Tired old ship "

Aug 2016

3 lifts not working the whole cruise ,leaking ceilings in corridors &ate trance to main dining room. Access for disabled &people with walkers severely restricted.One day on deck 6there were 4lifts out of order ,this the first trip after being in dry dock. Also only had 3generators not 4working so Cairns&Barrier Reef are cancelled due to lack of speed ., we put our survey in but nobody from Princess has had the courtesy to follow it up with us

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Sun Princess
  • Destination: Australia
  • Sailed: May 2016


The basics

She has 15 decks, room for 2,010 guests, and needs 924 crew members on hand. The full length of the ship is 856 feet, and she stands tall at 185 feet. She was most recently refurbished in 2010 and enjoyed her very first cruise in December 1995.

Take a tour on the Sun Princess to see ports around Australia including Sydney, Brisbane, Fremantle, the Margaret River, Albany, and Port Douglas. Alternatively, go further afield to New Caledonia, Vanuatu, Malaysia, Thailand and Singapore.


Accommodation

Stay in luxury in one of the 1,011 guest cabins, of which 410 have private balconies. There are 12 suites, 23 mini-suites, 372 cabins with balconies, 193 ocean view cabins and 408 inside cabins. A total of 19 of these cabins are accessible by wheelchair.

Regardless of the size of the cabin, all rooms are fitted with lush accessories including Egyptian cotton sheets, a satellite TV and a housekeeping service as well as plenty of space to relax. All the details have been thought of, right down to the evening chocolate on your pillow.


Entertainment

In between ports, you can pass your time in an endless number of ways on board. The Lotus Spa gym and fitness area will help you work up a sweat, and the two pool areas will help you cool off before you take a therapeutic dip in a hot tub.

Take a stroll amongst the world-class art gallery on board, or take some art home with you from one of the on-board auctions. You can further your education with the Princess Cruises ScholarShip@Sea programme, or simply disappear into a good book from the library.

Shop til you drop at a duty-free boutique, watch a fantastic live act in the theatre or sit back to enjoy a movie on the big screen. Spend time with friends or make new ones at one of the three cocktail lounges, or try your luck at the Grand Casino.


Dining

There are three forms of dining on board the Sun Princess; traditional, casual and speciality.

Traditional meals involve formal seating times and personalised service in the Regency or Marquis dining rooms. Enjoy a casual meal or order take out from the buffet, international cafe, pizzeria or grill, or opt for a speciality meal on the balcony, in the steakhouse, or at the sushi bar.

{"E_COMMERCE":[],"PROMO":[],"IS_TEST_ENV":false,"PAGE_READY":{"hitNationality":"us","siteCurrency":"AUD","siteEnv":"Production","siteLang":"en","sitePageType":"princess\/sun-princess\/reviews","siteProduct":"cruise","siteReferrer":"http:\/\/cruisesalefinder.com.au","siteRelease":"NS","siteType":"responsive","userLoggedIn":0}}