Australia's Top Cruise Site

Passengers Booked

3 1 0 0 0 0 +

Sapphire Princess

As one of just two ships built in Japan for the Princess Cruises fleet, the Sapphire Princess is both a rarity and a beauty. Find out all you want to know about what it's like to cruise on her with our passenger reviews. ... Read more

5 Passengers have reviewed this ship

  • Excellent

    1
  • Very good

    2
  • Average

    1
  • Poor

    1
  • Terrible

    0

Rating summary

  • Food

    4
  • Entertainment

    3
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    4
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4

5 reviews sorted by:

Contributor image placeholder

Susan

Contributor

  • 10 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 2 Cruises

Sapphire Princess

View deals
  • Overall

    4
  • Food

    4
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    4
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4

"Disappointing"

May 2016

Our first time on a Princess cruise & we were looking forward to the comparison to other cruise lines, having heard good things about the line. The embarkation process was very straight forward with not too much of a wait to board. On board we found our cabin easily but unfortunately that where the excitement began & ended. The entertainment on board was next to nothing, the casino was tiny with no bar facility even close by & no other entertainment around the area not even music playing. Shows in the showroom were very low budget & boring, people leaving during shows. The biggest disappointment on board was at the main swimming pool, every afternoon at 5.00 passengers were asked to leave the pool (by a crew member who was clearly embarrassed to have to do so), due to preparation to pool lounges for 'Movies Under the Stars' mind you movies & recorded concerts had been screening all day while the pool was still open, & by 5.00 especially after a day in port it was very relaxing to lounge around or in the pool in the beautiful warm weather. Many passengers were confused by this process. Our other disappointment was the fact that each port we docked at was 1 & half to 2 hours away from the actual port of call.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Sapphire Princess
  • Destination: Asia
  • Sailed: March 2016
Contributor image placeholder

Nivein Y

Contributor

  • 5 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 4 Cruises

Sapphire Princess

View deals
  • Overall

    4
  • Food

    4
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    4
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4

"Good cruise"

Feb 2016

We have enjoyed the cruise very much . It was very very relaxing holiday. Everything you need it was there. We had a very good weather thanks to our God . We have enjoyed a beautiful views of things God has created for us. The food was really good and lots of variety to choose from. The crew were helpful. The ship is very clean . The entertainment were not really good but was okay. The places we visited with really good we wish if we could stayed there longer. I love to go again and visited the same placess again and again. I was happy as a Christian to find a bible study group in the ship and I wish if were more people coming and join us. My husband involved in the ping ping tournament and he won 3 times that was fun for them even the price was only a little souvenir but most importantly the fun the he had. My 12 years old son tried the kids club once but he didn't like it much Overall it was a good cruise thanks to our lord . Princes has a good customer service and membership award program. We will go with them again

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Sapphire Princess
  • Destination: Asia
  • Sailed: January 2016
Contributor image placeholder

Timothy B

Contributor

Sapphire Princess

View deals
  • Overall

    4
  • Food

    4
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    4
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4

"Best way to see the world"

Apr 2015

Cruising is the best way to see the world. Once on board a cruise ship - you can have a really enjoyable holiday without spending another cent if you wish. Your accommodation, meals, travel and entertainment are all included in the price of your fare. You don't have to spend another cent if you don't wish to, any additional spending is totally discretional. You get to go to different destinations. If you don't like it, you are only there for a day. If you love it, you can go back for a longer holiday if you wish - but at least you aren't stuck in a destination, on a holiday, that you hate. There are always plenty of activities being conducted on board a cruise ship. You can do as much or as little as you want - the only problem is you do have to leave your cabin. There is such an array of food and dining options to suit all needs. You can eat buffet style, you can eat in a dining room and order off the menu, you can just go for pizza if you want. You can choose anytime dining, or you can have set dining times, or reserve a table. There are always activities being conducted throughout the ship, from trivia and games events, art auctions, dance lessons, bingo, destination talks, movies, live productions, fitness sessions, educational sessions – the possibilities are endless. If you don’t like being held to a timetable of activities, you can grab a board game to play, a book to read from the library, meet up with friends for a coffee, do a gym workout, meet friends for a game of cards, or watch a movie in your stateroom. You can just lie around one of the many pools and sunbake or swim. There are always a number of bars and restaurants and they all have their own unique style, so you do have variety. For me, cruising is the best way to holiday as it offers such fantastic value for money. I love it. Next cruise, I’ll be off to New Zealand.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Sapphire Princess
  • Destination: Asia
  • Sailed: January 2015
Contributor image placeholder

Ross N

Contributor

  • 24 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 1 Cruises

Sapphire Princess

View deals
  • Overall

    4
  • Food

    4
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    4
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4

"Wonderful"

Jan 2015

This was our best cruise so far andfIns we look forward to sailing with Princess again as they looked after us and treated us special from start to finish. Booking the cruise was simple and we were kept well informed prior to our travels. The entertainment, the presentation of the ship, the quality of the venues, the magnificent staff/crew and the great ports of call made this near enough to perfect in every way, so our thanks to everyone from booking, to boarding to sailing to disembarking, exceptional.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Sapphire Princess
  • Destination: Asia
  • Sailed: January 2015
Contributor image placeholder

Stephen M

Contributor

  • 12 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 1 Cruises

Sapphire Princess

View deals
  • Overall

    4
  • Food

    4
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    4
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4

"dinning room menu"

Oct 2014

Food variety was not great too many items were on the menu every day not enough new menu items\ but overall cruise was good to very good. the the dance troupe and ship singers were great but shows on all other nights were poor to good for my taste

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Sapphire Princess
  • Destination: Asia
  • Sailed: September 2014


The basics

The Sapphire Princess is a large ship with 18 decks, capable of carrying up to 2,678 guests. She is 952 feet long and 205 feet high, and was built in Nagasaki, Japan before her inaugural cruise in May 2004.

Journeys include cruises to exotic locations such as Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, Brunei, Cambodia, Taiwan, Japan, China and Vietnam.


Accommodation

Cabins on board vary from affordable inside rooms to lush suites with private balconies. There are 1,337 cabins in total, and a huge 75 per cent of those have private balconies attached.

Families can opt for one of the interconnecting suites, and those on a budget may prefer to stay in one of the 216 ocean view cabins or one of the 366 inside cabins. If you need a room that has wheelchair access, there are 27 such cabins in total.


Entertainment

On a ship of this size, you'll be spoilt for choice when it comes to activities and entertainment.

There are four pools and four hot tubs to choose from, as well as the adults-only Sanctuary for a spot of tranquility. The Lotus Spa is where to go for massages and other spa treatments, and the centre court, jogging track and gym are the place to be to keep fit while on holiday.

You can wander amongst the boutique stores, take a tour of the art gallery and make a purchase of a favourite piece at auction, learn something new through the ScholarShip@Sea programme or while away the hours in the library.

Nightly entertainment includes live performances, movies on the big screen, nightclubs, lounges and a casino.


Dining

Dine the way you want with anything from a casual meal to a multiple-course dinner on board.

There are four anytime dining rooms for meals when you want them, or you can visit the traditional international dining room for scheduled meals. Speciality restaurants serve sushi, Italian cuisine, steakhouse fare and stunning balcony views, but there are plenty of casual eateries available as well.

{"IS_TEST_ENV":true,"PAGE_READY":{"hitNationality":"us","siteCurrency":"AUD","siteEnv":"Testing","siteLang":"en","sitePageType":"princess\/sapphire-princess\/reviews","siteProduct":"cruise","siteReferrer":"http:\/\/cruisesalefinder.com.au","siteRelease":"NS","siteType":"responsive","userLoggedIn":0}}