Australia's Top Cruise Site

Passengers Booked

2 2 0 0 0 0 +

Golden Princess

The Golden Princess is full of Princess favourites, and recent refurbishments have left her looking new and better than ever for seasons spent cruising from Melbourne. Here's what past passengers have thought of this golden girl! ... Read more

30 Passengers have reviewed this ship

  • Excellent

    11
  • Very good

    15
  • Average

    1
  • Poor

    2
  • Terrible

    1

Rating summary

  • Food

    4
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4

30 reviews sorted by:

Contributor image placeholder

Janice P

Contributor

  • 42 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise reviews
  • 1 Cruises

Golden Princess

View deals
  • Overall

    4
  • Food

    4
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    4
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4

"Our eighth cruise, my husband's last"

Apr 2017

We had a wonderful time as it was my husband's birthday cruise, little knowing that within five weeks of returning he would have passed away. Port Arthur was his most interesting place. He was appalled at the conditions the prisoners were kept in. It was a sobering time for him to hear their stories. I wanted to visit it all again and take my mother this time as she has never been to Tasmania and is now a sprightly 91 year old.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Golden Princess
  • Destination: Australia
  • Sailed: February 2016
Contributor image placeholder

sharlene e

Contributor

  • 40 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise reviews
  • 0 Cruises

Golden Princess

View deals
  • Overall

    4
  • Food

    4
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    4
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4

"Fantastic again"

Mar 2017

My husband and myself had a great time again. staff is just amazing could have a little bit more entertainment on ship as this time could not stop at all ports.as I'm a smoker there could be some more places were we could smoke as it was raining most of the time a little bit more cover would be great

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Golden Princess
  • Destination: New Zealand
  • Sailed: March 2017
Contributor image placeholder

Patrick C

Contributor

  • 31 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise reviews
  • 2 Cruises

Golden Princess

View deals
  • Overall

    4
  • Food

    4
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    4
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4

"Surprisingly Good!"

Feb 2017

As first time Cruisers, my wife and I were a little apprehensive at first. The service by Cruisesalefinder for a start was hassle free and excellent. We got a great phone call a fortnight out letting us know we'd been upgraded too, very fortunate. It lived up to all the hype my parents had put on the cruise experience, just fantastic. We both really needed to relax, and even though it was just a four day trial we both got plenty of time to unwind. We really enjoyed the entertainment we chose to see, and the service and food was fabulous. We felt pampered, and they put a lot of effort into recognising a special anniversary we had too. Would highly recommend Princess as a cruise line, great value and top service all round!

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Golden Princess
  • Destination: Cruise Sampler
  • Sailed: February 2017
Contributor image placeholder

Faye P

Contributor

Golden Princess

View deals
  • Overall

    4
  • Food

    4
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    4
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4

"Wrong day"

Jan 2017

Loved the cruise. Unfortunately, the scenic cruising in and around Wineglass Bay didn't take place due to extreme weather, but I didn't mind. I thought the Itinerary could have been better so that we arrived Friday night at Hobart so that people could take in the Salamanca Market on the Saturday. Arriving Saturday night gave us Sunday with very little shops open. Maybe straight to Hobart arriving Friday night, all day Saturday in Hobart, Port Arthur Sunday, Wineglass bay on the way home then Phillip Island. I'm sure there is a reason for the order of the Itinerary, but such a shame to be in Hobart on a Sunday. Our Cabin Steward, Joseph was top notch. Our room was always clean and tidy yet we never saw him in there! We'll be back on Princess.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Golden Princess
  • Destination: Australia
  • Sailed: January 2017
Contributor image placeholder

Tanya

Contributor

  • 37 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise reviews
  • 1 Cruises

Golden Princess

View deals
  • Overall

    4
  • Food

    4
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    4
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4

"Christmas cruising"

Jan 2017

Decided to take the opportunity to come home from Christmas holidays relaxed and take a cruise. Fantastic way to spend the holidays, only downside was the weather which meant that a couple of the destination stops were missed. Our wait staff - Jayson and Min - were absolutely wonderful and did everything in their power to make our dining experience one to remember. Definitely have the cruising bug now,

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Golden Princess
  • Destination: New Zealand
  • Sailed: December 2016


The basics

The Golden Princess is part of Princess' Grand-Class. She is 951 feet long, 118 feet wide and rises 17 decks above the waves to carry the full roster of more than 2,600 passengers. Her inaugural cruise was in May 2001 and she was christened by Merlisa George, Miss U.S. Virgin Islands.

The destinations visited by the Golden Princess include Australia, New Zealand, the islands of the South Pacific, southeast Asia and Alaska.


Accomodation

There is a stateroom for all preferences on the Golden Princess, with a total of 1,318 guest cabins. 230 of these are various suites and mini-suites, great for families or those who like to enjoy some extra space and amenities like a mini-bar setup, fresh flowers and even a hot tub in some suites.

Balcony, oceanview and inside cabins are also available with plenty of space to pack away luggage, spread out and retreat from shipboard life.


Entertainment

Four pools, nine whirlpools, a gym and spa, shuffleboard court, putting green, art gallery, library and many fun organised activities keep guests active and entertained during sea days on the Golden Princess.

In the evening, the excitement ramps up even more with a theatre and show lounge, a range of bars, the casino and even a spot for watching movies under the stars.


Dining

The choice of Traditional or Anytime dining means you can eat in the manner to which you're accustomed, even on your cruise holiday. The three main dining rooms give an intimate atmosphere to your meals, and if you would rather a casual affair, there's always the buffet, the pizzeria and hot dogs by the pool.

Specialty restaurants and balcony dining can make it a special night out.

{"IS_TEST_ENV":true,"PAGE_READY":{"hitNationality":"us","siteCurrency":"AUD","siteEnv":"Testing","siteLang":"en","sitePageType":"princess\/golden-princess\/reviews","siteProduct":"cruise","siteReferrer":"http:\/\/cruisesalefinder.com.au","siteRelease":"NS","siteType":"responsive","userLoggedIn":0}}