Australia's Top Cruise Site

Passengers Booked

3 1 0 0 0 0 +

Diamond Princess

The Diamond Princess is one of the shining gems in the Princess Cruises crown, a ship of elegance and brilliance that lives up to its name. Find out what makes it sparkle with these reviews from past passengers. ... Read more

50 Passengers have reviewed this ship

  • Excellent

    30
  • Very good

    9
  • Average

    6
  • Poor

    3
  • Terrible

    2

Rating summary

  • Food

    4
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    4
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4

50 reviews sorted by:

Contributor image placeholder

Pamela J

Contributor

  • 15 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 1 Cruises

Diamond Princess

View deals
  • Overall

    4
  • Food

    4
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    4
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4

"SE Asia"

Jan 2017

A great way to unwind.

  • Cruise Name: Diamond Princess
  • Destination: Last Minute
  • Sailed: December 2016
Contributor image placeholder

Maree E

Contributor

  • 16 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 2 Cruises

Diamond Princess

View deals
  • Overall

    4
  • Food

    4
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    4
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4

"Loved It!"

Dec 2016

We love cruising and go every year so always looking for new destinations and experiences. On this last cruise everything was as usual perfect. The only thing we found a bit lacking was the entertainment on board Diamond Princess. We feel a good cruise is intrinsically linked with a colourful and vivacious Cruise Director someone who is present and available to the passengers whilst keeping the momentum of the entertainment moving. This is especially critical on cruise lengths where there are lots of back to back sailing days. Unfortunately on this last Princess cruise the Cruise Director was not out and about much or visible to the passengers and the energy of the cruise entertainment lost momentum. Other than that the staff on ALL the cruises we have been on are a cut above the rest. They all go out of their way to ensure passengers have the best holiday. Considering most of them are away from their families for long periods of time it still amazes me how they can be so attentive and accommodating to the passengers day in and day out which come and go. They seem so dedicated to their jobs and the service they are providing we are really always so impressed. The food of course goes without saying is always wonderful!!

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Diamond Princess
  • Destination: Asia
  • Sailed: November 2016
Contributor image placeholder

George A

Contributor

  • 17 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 3 Cruises

Diamond Princess

View deals
  • Overall

    4
  • Food

    4
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    4
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4

"The comtempt the crew had for the guest was unbelevable"

Dec 2016

The cruise was totally marred by the fact that the crew seemed to believe they were more important than the guest but we will get back to that! First stop on our trip was Kota Kinabalu. We opted not to go on a formal tour but went to the lecture on the place. The presenter could have put an insomniac to sleep but one thing we got from this was to watch out for the Taxi drivers who would rip you off. We opted for the $8 per person per way on the official bus and went to the shopping centre. We should have known we were wrong when they drove past the up market Mall and dropped us at what I would describe as a dive of a mall (kind of said what they thought of the passengers). We walked back to the decent mall then went back to the ship. Later in the bar we were talking to another family and they told us, the three of them went to the same place in a taxi and it only cost them $6 for the round trip for all of them! Who ripped off who? Te worst in my opinion and the topic I said we would get back to was that, this cruise was to celebrate my 60th birthday and after having a mediocre meal in the stirling steakhouse we went to the disco to party on, only to find that it was closed for a "Staff function"! The staff come before the paying passengers! In all the contact I have had with princess cruises since this and about this matter, the attitude has been (my words) Tough! Never again!

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Diamond Princess
  • Destination: Australia
  • Sailed: November 2016
Contributor image placeholder

Katelyn

Contributor

  • 13 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 3 Cruises

Diamond Princess

View deals
  • Overall

    4
  • Food

    4
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    4
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4

"Grand Asia - Very Relaxing "

Nov 2016

While this wasn't my first cruise it was my partners first and he had a ball. The ports were amazing (although we always wish we could stay longer at each place, but that's cruising for you) the crew were so accommodating and friendly, the cabin was more than I could have asked for, it was beautiful and very spacious with a gorgeous balcony. The food was delicious and there was so much choice on offer. The ship it's self was amazing, the Diamond Princess is huge with lots on offer. I did enjoy the shopping on board however I do wish there was a bit more of a mix instead of just the upper market stores just to keep it varied. The entertainment was great although again I wish there was a little more choice during the day, for events that may suit the younger couples. But overall this was a very rewarding trip, we had the most beautiful and relaxing days with gorgeous weather, food and not to forget the people we shared it all with. I was very impressed with Princess Cruises as well as Cruise Sale Finder for setting it all up for us. It was a magical trip overall and I would 100% recommend to anyone.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Diamond Princess
  • Destination: Asia
  • Sailed: October 2016
Contributor image placeholder

Cynthia H

Contributor

  • 18 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 3 Cruises

Diamond Princess

View deals
  • Overall

    4
  • Food

    4
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    4
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4

"Revamped Diamond Princess"

Jul 2016

I have just received Captain's Circle elite status, so have cruised with Princess many times. Diamond Princess used to be my very favourite cruise ship. After the last cruise, I probably wouldn't travel on it again. It is very focused on giving the Japanese a great experience and doesn't really cater as well for other nationalities any more. The ship was about 80% Japanese people and 20% other nationalities. Activities are geared towards Japanese people and every activity or game or anything, there are hundreds there to participate. Food also is Japanese style which is nice to try on occasions. The cabins are roomy and the staff excellent in their service areas. Buffet service was slow in the evenings. Unfortunately any time dining is not available on this ship which is a great shame. The dining staff were very helpful and looked after our needs well. We found that the Japanese mostly use the Oasis (pay for) area, so the spas and outdoor pool area was mainly uncrowded. We didn't visit the Izumi Japanese bath as we thought it too expensive to try. The ports we visited on this cruise were amazing, especially the South Taiwan ports. I would highly recommend cruising with Princess, but not the Diamond Princess.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Diamond Princess
  • Destination: Asia
  • Sailed: June 2016


The basics

As one of just two cruise ships in the fleet built in Japan, the Diamond Princess is also something of a rarity. She can hold as many as 2,706 guests, and needs 1,100 staff to run at full capacity.

She has a maximum of 22 knots, is 952 feet long and has 18 decks and 700 balconies.

Destinations include ports around the country of her origin, visiting Kobe, Tokyo, Nagasaki and other Japanese ports. She also journeys to South Korea, Taiwan, Australia, New Zealand, and the Pacific Islands.


Entertainment

In another nod to her origins, the Diamond Princess boasts the world's largest open air Japanese baths, a feature only found on this ship. There are serene indoor and outdoor areas perfect for finding the ultimate in relaxation.

There are also four pools and six hot tubs, as well as an adults-only area for some peace and quiet. Pass the time at the nine-hole putting course, in the gym or in the library. You can even check out some of the fine artwork in the gallery, learn through the ScholarShip@Sea programme, watch a live show at the theatre, catch up on the latest movies at the outdoor cinema, or shop in one of the many boutiques.

You can even say your vows in the beautifully appointed Hearts and Minds Wedding Chapel.


Accommodation

Take your pick of 28 suites with private balconies, 186 mini suites with private balconies, outside cabins, inside cabins, deluxe oceanview rooms, family suites with interconnecting cabins, and outside cabins with private balconies. All together, there are 1,337 rooms available, and 27 of them have wheelchair access.


Dining

There are so many dining options on the ship you'll have to book a longer tour to enjoy them all.

For a traditional cruise meal, visit the International Dining Room where each meal is served at the same time and you will be served by the same waiter throughout the cruise. If a less structured itinerary suits you better, there are four 'anytime' restaurants where you can enjoy a meal when you're ready for it.

There are also speciality Italian, sushi, steak, and balcony dining options, as well as a range of more casual options such as a buffet, ice cream bar and pizzeria.

{"IS_TEST_ENV":true,"PAGE_READY":{"hitNationality":"us","siteCurrency":"AUD","siteEnv":"Testing","siteLang":"en","sitePageType":"princess\/diamond-princess\/reviews","siteProduct":"cruise","siteReferrer":"http:\/\/cruisesalefinder.com.au","siteRelease":"NS","siteType":"responsive","userLoggedIn":0}}