Australia's Top Cruise Site

Passengers Booked

3 1 0 0 0 0 +

P&O - Pacific Jewel

As a world leader in cruising, P&O offers some of the best facilities, accommodation, dining and entertainment options on board its range of ships. The P&O's Pacific Jewel is a shining example of what a cruise can offer. Find out more in our reviews section. ... Read more

145 Passengers have reviewed this ship

  • Excellent

    70
  • Very good

    42
  • Average

    15
  • Poor

    11
  • Terrible

    7

Rating summary

  • Food

    4
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    4
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4

145 reviews sorted by:

Contributor image placeholder

Alexander

Contributor

  • 12 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 0 Cruises

P&O - Pacific Jewel

View deals
  • Overall

    4
  • Food

    4
  • Entertainment

    5
  • Cabin

    3
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    5
  • Value

    4

"Happy to cruise again on this ship"

Sep 2017

Book not too early but rather keep watching the weekly updates on cabin fares as the prices go considerably up and down. We really just go to our cabin just to change and sleep so it does not really matter what position on the ship our room is. It is useful for an easy and quick embarkation to complete all the paperwork (Including luggage labels, etc) before turning up to the wharf so your booking in and cabin card issue should only take about 10 to 15 minutes (most of the time in the line-up). Similar advice for disembarkation. Please don’t be one of those travellers in front of me arguing the toss or asking about something for which full information was supplied with our book. NZ has a very smart system for processing passengers. Our main gripe is that although this ship advertises queen sized beds there are definitely none. We had it confirmed by a senior officer at the information desk that all beds on this ship are standard length only at 185cm. Moving to another cabin would not solve our long length requirement, and yet our P&O booking agent did email us before the voyage to say the beds were queen length (205cm). Obviously, you can’t trust the information from the booking agent (as this is the second time the agent has been wrong). But don’t worry too much if your six foot tootsies hang over the end of your bed, as our deck supervisor got cracking and constructed an extension to our bed. You could say “harden up” and lie diagonally across the beds but you would soon find your backside sinking down the Grand Canyon where the twin beds have been pushed together. Our room staff were excellent and our room was small but quite adequate with lots of drawer spaces. Off course half the stuff we packed we never used. Our hair dryer in the cabin was out of order for entire trip. Internet costs and service has greatly improved. The best deal is at $79 unlimited for the length of the voyage. Access seemed possible from most parts of the ship. The food service and choices were very good. Not too many passengers tried the soups but I found them very nice (although a wee bit salty). Shocking to see the big number of folks eating food only with their hands – a fast way to get sick with a bug. The tea and coffee urns only had one working at a time so the line ups were long. Plenty of fruit juices as an alternative. We brought along our thermal mugs to fill. Be very fastidious about thoroughly cleaning your hands several times a day. Plenty of entertainment with twice nightly shows in the concert hall. We enjoyed all of these. You just have to get there early enough to get a seat. No use sitting anywhere near the back under the balcony as you just can’t see the stage. Upstairs was OK. Around the bars there are plenty of musicians playing and singing. Our favourite was the piano man Francis who played to the audience of us seniors with our type of soft songs, but then in the middle of a tune extemporised much into delightful jazz and ending in a classical Beethoven flurry. Another young guy was attempting to sing something but we just about all got up and left. In another bar the Pines Trio played us lots of excellent dance music. The Marquee final of the passenger talent quest was terrific. There was also some serious ballroom dancing happening up in the Dome. Some of the other singer / band routines around the bars were just loud noise with no sense of melody. The Air Band featuring DJK were terrible and must have exceeded safe decibel limits. Bring your ear muffs. Then again you can always go over to the info desk and get the latest Sudoku. Seriously, do we really want to eat our breakfast with heavy rap music? Came across a guy who appeared to have taken a bit of a turn on the stairwell. We called for help to the medical centre and a medic came within a couple of minutes. Top marks. The first day embarkation took only about ten minutes because we were careful enough to fill out all the required paperwork. Same with leaving the ship – just walk off and get your bag – no more than ten minutes. Top marks again. Bottom marks for the way the shore trips by tender were organised. We had to wait with our allocated tickets for a whole two hours to get ashore at all ports. Just not good enough. Call me a snob but I think that getting changed into at least semi-formal clothes for the evening is important. It’s a pity that the door staff at the Waterfront Restaurant room don’t push this and so let day clothes in (wearing hats, shorts and singlets) at the formal dining table. The main importance of changing is not so much to change one’s looks but rather to change one’s smelly clothes. It would have been great to have at least one formal dress-up night. We’ve now been on four P&O trips. Overall happy with this trip as the destinations have been excellent. Happy to go again.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: P&O - Pacific Jewel
  • Destination: South Pacific
  • Sailed: September 2017
Contributor image placeholder

LYNNE W

Contributor

  • 64 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 0 Cruises

P&O - Pacific Jewel

View deals
  • Overall

    3
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    3
  • Cabin

    3
  • Crew

    3
  • Price

    5
  • Value

    5

"LIFE JACKET DRILL, RUDE STAFF AND ISSUES WITH CARD"

Sep 2017

The life jacket drill took far too long it was quite ridiculous, I have done several cruises, previously with Pacific Pearl. I noticed quite a difference with the crew, twice I was shouted at on the Pacific Jewel, over my life jacket, I was on deck 12 ready for sailing and was shouted at, told to take my life jacket to my cabin or they would not serve us any alcohol, my sister and I are senior citizens, not senile or deaf, and did not appreciate being shouted at like that. The other episode was I got told off for using my phone, during the drill, I had to send a txt to my daughter who was rushed into hospital the previous day. There is a way of talking to people, quiet and polite is the key! The worst thing was, being told my card was not working, this happened twice a day every day. It was a real pain having to go to my cabin get my credit card, go to the desk, being told sorry mam, it is ok now. Then back to the cabin with my credit card. Disembarking, was so embarrassing, I was pulled aside, told I had not settled my bill, and told to go to the desk. I had to wait for the lift, q again at the desk, get my card fixed, and again wait for the lift and q again to get off the ship. I called my bank while onboard they confirmed, and told the desk staff that there are no issues at all with my credit card, the issue is with your system. Why, all the other cruises, I did not have to go down to the desk twice daily, to get the card loaded/fixed? On the Pacific Pearl I had to do nothing, the account was settled automatically when we dis embarked. This cruise was not the most enjoyable. I will add, the bar staff were minimal and I had to go to the bar for drinks, that was not acceptable, you need more bar staff. Waterfront restaurant, the staff were marvellous as the cabin staff. Hats off to Martina Montez, what a fantastic professional show, I would pay to see her, please keep her as entertainment, she really is a star. Thank you, I hope our cruise on Pacific Dawn in January has no issues with cards, or rude staff.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: P&O - Pacific Jewel
  • Destination: New Zealand
  • Sailed: September 2017
Contributor image placeholder

Angie F

Contributor

  • 74 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 6 Cruises

P&O - Pacific Jewel

View deals
  • Overall

    1
  • Food

    2
  • Entertainment

    2
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    1
  • Price

    1
  • Value

    1

"Jewel is a disappointment "

Aug 2017

The Pacific Jewel from Sydney was such a disappointment. We booked a party of 18 and each room received $30 wine vouchers for group booking. We could not eat dinner together unless we ate at 5pm or 8pm. We were not allowed to use any of the $30 wine vouchers against bottles of wine unless value of wine was $30 or less. The few and rare drink waiters that served on pool deck refused to clean tables poolside and said it was not their job but table waiters never came. We found ourselves having to clear tables to sit down and eat lunch together. Waterfront restaurant staff rude and unhelpful. Our only comparison was P&O Dawn out of Brisbane which was amazing. Will never go on jewel again

Read more
  • Cruise Name: P&O - Pacific Jewel
  • Destination: Australia
  • Sailed: February 2017
Contributor image placeholder

Shane

Contributor

  • 164 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 1 Cruises

P&O - Pacific Jewel

View deals
  • Overall

    1
  • Food

    1
  • Entertainment

    3
  • Cabin

    1
  • Crew

    2
  • Price

    2
  • Value

    1

"Was first cruise and hell"

May 2017

Well first cruise and was very set on having a great time. Trip up to Morton Island was good but signs of things to come was there. First stepped into room and open bathroom to mould in shower and pubic hair on floor. Bed was like lying on concrete. Well thought won't be there much so does not matter. Then off to check food. Was I so wrong. The hot food bar was so cold that this inturn made me sick with food poisoning on day three from not server at correct heat. On arrival I had booked ATV ride for 9 am on arrival and because the ship arrived 10 minutes late sorry you cannot partake in this event. They offered to give me another booking but because food poisoning was setting in that was lost money from P&O event. sorry no refund. So with illness setting in it back to bed for 18 hours went to sick bay got some relief with pain killers and slept for few hours.( if only they did not repeat Movie 6 straight time. xXx was good movie once but 5 times in row is to much.) So after recovering on second last day went to another restaurant that a friend took me too and there again even table service food was cold and portion so small enough for a toddler may have had enough to eat. So no a good impression and the other people who commented to myself felt the same. First time ever on cruise and will never go with P&O again. Suggestion on future ones that are better would be great.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: P&O - Pacific Jewel
  • Destination: Australia
  • Sailed: June 2017
Contributor image placeholder

Susan C

Contributor

  • 94 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 0 Cruises

P&O - Pacific Jewel

View deals
  • Overall

    3
  • Food

    4
  • Entertainment

    2
  • Cabin

    2
  • Crew

    2
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4

"Thieves aboard"

May 2017

The actual cruise itself was delightful...no problems or anything to complain about. However, after disembarking my husband discovered that his iPod had been stolen from his suitcase (which you have to relinquish hours before you disembark) and I discovered that my duty free bag had been opened, carefully taped up and that the bottle of Midori I had purchased in Port Vila had been replaced with an inferior brand of melon liqueur (see photo attached).

Read more
  • Cruise Name: P&O - Pacific Jewel
  • Destination: South Pacific
  • Sailed: January 2017


The basics

The Pacific Jewel measures 245 metres in length, can fit 1,950 passengers on board its 11 decks and cruises at a top speed of 22.5 knots.

Step on board for a journey around the Southern Barrier Reef, Melbourne, Vanuatu, New Guinea Island and other surreal locations.


Entertainment

Boasting the largest adventure park at sea with P&O Edge, the Pacific Jewel takes excitement to new levels with rock climbing and abseiling on the aft funnel, zip lining over the deck, doing a daring high ropes course, enjoying a romantic Titanic Jack-and-Rose moment at the bow of deck 8 and other incredible activities.

You can also test your racing skills at the onboard driving simulator on some of the the world's most famous tracks, watch a jaw-dropping circus performance in the Atrium, catch major sports events and the latest movies on the Big Screen, watch a laser show, work out in the gym, visit the adults-only Oasis, take a dip in the pool or relax in the library or spa.


Dining

P&O's fresh and tasty fare is available in the Waterfront Restaurant main dining room or at the innovative new Pantry, which offers street-food style casual eateries. Here you can try a bit of roast meat, fish and chips, Mexican fare, curries and lots more, with the Sugar Bar serving up sweet treats to finish the meal.

You can also opt for a gourmet night out at the Salt Grill or Chef's Table, both known in the Australia cruise scene as serving some of the tastiest morsels at sea.


Accommodation

Your choice of rooms includes inside cabins, ocean view cabins, balcony cabins and a few different types of suites. Families and groups can opt for interconnecting cabins to stay close during the trip, and those after a touch of luxury will enjoy the suites with their extra amenities. 

{"E_COMMERCE":[],"PROMO":[],"IS_TEST_ENV":false,"PAGE_READY":{"hitNationality":"us","siteCurrency":"AUD","siteEnv":"Production","siteLang":"en","sitePageType":"po-cruises\/pacific-jewel\/reviews","siteProduct":"cruise","siteReferrer":"http:\/\/cruisesalefinder.com.au","siteRelease":"NS","siteType":"responsive","userLoggedIn":0}}