Australia's Top Cruise Site

Passengers Booked

3 1 0 0 0 0 +

P&O - Pacific Dawn

P&O Pacific Dawn is a popular ship in Australia. Customer reviews reveal personal experiences with the ships accommodation, entertainment, food and more. Read on to get familiar with the Pacific Dawn and learn what cruise goers think of this frequented Australian cruise liner. ... Read more

163 Passengers have reviewed this ship

  • Excellent

    101
  • Very good

    37
  • Average

    17
  • Poor

    5
  • Terrible

    3

Rating summary

  • Food

    4
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4

163 reviews sorted by:

Contributor image placeholder

Fay R

Contributor

  • 40 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 0 Cruises

P&O - Pacific Dawn

View deals
  • Overall

    5
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    5
  • Cabin

    5
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    5
  • Value

    5

"Fabulous "

Aug 2017

I just spent 7 days on the Dawn it was supposed to be a relaxing cruise but myself and 50 other couples were not happy becsuse we booked the cruise out of school holidays and there were 250 children on board the majority of them not supervised we could not even use the pool because the children were in it the whole time .PO gave the children free not fair .i would like a free cruise to compensate as would the other people. The children were in the Casino at all hours of the night with no adults not good .otherwise the food entertainment crew were great.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: P&O - Pacific Dawn
  • Destination: Australia
  • Sailed: August 2017
Contributor image placeholder

John L

Contributor

  • 9 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 0 Cruises

P&O - Pacific Dawn

View deals
  • Overall

    5
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    5
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4

"Happy"

Jul 2017

This was our first cruise for myself my wife and 2 children. From time of boarding until time of return we cannot find a negative thing to say about this cruise, other than we wished it was longer. Large variety of food with the every day eating at the pantry with selections of food from many countries, then seafood restaurants and also the upmarket Salt Restaurant, could not fault any. Room stewards, bar staff, and roaming waiters, treated us like they have known us for 10 years, nothing was a problem. My most memorable experience was with the casino staff, i have never wanted to return to a place that constantly takeS your money, but due to the personalities of all the staff in the casino, i returned daily, I have never laughed so much in all my life with these people, and have many pictures I will treasure until I return for our next cruise, in which we are planning today after being back for 1 night. We have also become friends with many of the passengers, and the age difference was not relevant,, young middle aged,, older, it does not matter, a cruise is what you make of it, and we made it a trip to remember. Thankyou Team P&O. John L Brisbane

Read more
  • Cruise Name: P&O - Pacific Dawn
  • Destination: South Pacific
  • Sailed: June 2017
Contributor image placeholder

Yasmin

Contributor

  • 21 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 3 Cruises

P&O - Pacific Dawn

View deals
  • Overall

    1
  • Food

    1
  • Entertainment

    1
  • Cabin

    1
  • Crew

    2
  • Price

    1
  • Value

    1

"Never Again On P&O"

Jun 2017

My second cruise with P&O, same ship the Dawn, cruise 12 months apart. No heating in my cabin for 3 days, it was freezing, no hot water first morning, blocked drain in shower second morning, cabin across hall had overflowing toilet into hall, constant sound of carpet blowers to dry carpet from overflowing toilet, fridge hummed constantly, carpet in cabin smelt of vomit, bed had springs pushing through, was told mattress would be replaced, it was swapped with my sons. Menu in Waterfront same as last year but quality of food greatly reduced, Pantry has less seating than there was with the buffet, had to stand to eat on numerous occasions, set up of Pantry not parent friendly as have to line up numerous times to get food for myself and children then run plates back to tables, less choice that the buffet, quality of food inferior in the Pantry compared to buffet, recycled food from previous day, food slopped on plate rather than served by staff, lied to by management with regards to broken air-conditioning and mattress, all goods for sale in the shops on the Dawn are more expensive on the ship than in shops in Australia, stage shows still the same as the previous year we traveled on the Dawn, purchased an Edge pass for my daughter, can only use it for 7 days, the Edge shop was closed for 3 of the 7 days, waste of money, all in all a dreadful experience. I would advise to take cash to put into you onboard account, if you give them a credit card number not only will they charge your card with the account balance there will also be charges held on your card as well, those funds wont be released back to you for days or weeks so your account may be $400 but you will have another $400 held. If you do choose to travel with P&O, I suggest you don't buy anything on the ship, alcohol is hellishly expensive, the coffee is disgusting, the rooms are not maintained very well, if you drink water expect to pay a lot to stay hydrated with bottled water as the ships water tastes disgusting.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: P&O - Pacific Dawn
  • Destination: South Pacific
  • Sailed: July 2017
Contributor image placeholder

peter garry b

Contributor

  • 72 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 0 Cruises

P&O - Pacific Dawn

View deals
  • Overall

    5
  • Food

    4
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    5
  • Value

    5

"great cruise"

Mar 2017

we went on state of origin cruise in 2016 to syd would have to say it was the most enjoyable cruise we have done met some great people from both sides of the border and had plenty of friendly banter going back and forward,most meals in the plantation and dined with complete strangers each night but by the end of the night they were like old friends.only down side was the trip out to the ground for the game we struck a bus driver who did not seem to know his way round syd to well and it took nearly two hours to get there different driver going back to the dawn 55 mins.all in all great trip and doing again this year on aria hope it is just as good and meet some old friends again plus some new ones.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: P&O - Pacific Dawn
  • Destination: Australia
  • Sailed: June 2016
Contributor image placeholder

owen l

Contributor

  • 56 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 2 Cruises

P&O - Pacific Dawn

View deals
  • Overall

    5
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    5
  • Value

    5

"More to come"

Mar 2017

I have been on the Dawn on 3 cruises total 36 nights NZ, Fiji, Vanuatu. I have found it to be the best way of spending my hard earned money for a vacation. Everything is great about this ship and cruise line. Staff are so good at looking after you no matter what. Thanks to P & O also putting together the premium drink package with my booking, makes the cruises very good value for money. Going on 4th cruise in June, can't wait to see the refurb

Read more
  • Cruise Name: P&O - Pacific Dawn
  • Destination: South Pacific
  • Sailed: April 2016


The basics

With a capacity of 2,020 passengers, a maximum speed of 22.5 knots, a length of 245 metres, and 11 decks, the Pacific Dawn is an impressive cruise liner perfect for any Australian holiday.

The Pacific Dawn is part of P&O's fleet of five Australia-based ships, with Pacific Aria and Pacific Eden having joined the expanding line in late 2015. 


Accommodation

There are 171 inside cabins and 624 outside cabins, and the range of interconnecting rooms can bring together groups of up to eight people for families and big groups of friends. Suites and mini-suites offer something a little extra with ocean views, balconies, sitting rooms, complimentary laundry service, priority embarkation and disembarkation, and invites to the Senior Officers' cocktail party on longer cruises.


Entertainment

While away your time on board the Pacific Dawn amongst the endless activities on offer. The two outdoor pools and four spas are a must, as well as visits to The Dome for nightly comedy shows, dancing, bands and live entertainment.

Adults can spend some time away from the children and kids' areas at The Oasis, and there are nine bars, clubs and pubs on board to enjoy a drink. Keep fit at the gym and unwind at the day spa or in the library for some serious down time.


Dining

P&O is world-¬≠famous for its food offerings on board, with a real focus on fresh, innovative meals, a movement it calls the Food Revolution. 

The Palm Court provides international fare, Bravo Trattoria serves everything Italian, you can take a seat at Luna for a decadent banquet or opt for buffe-­style at The Plantation.

{"E_COMMERCE":[],"PROMO":[],"IS_TEST_ENV":false,"PAGE_READY":{"hitNationality":"us","siteCurrency":"AUD","siteEnv":"Production","siteLang":"en","sitePageType":"po-cruises\/pacific-dawn\/reviews","siteProduct":"cruise","siteReferrer":"http:\/\/cruisesalefinder.com.au","siteRelease":"NS","siteType":"responsive","userLoggedIn":0}}